| 
					
   
 | 
					
						
							| 
			
							 | 
						 
						
							| 
							    | 
						 
						
							
                  
                    
                      
                      
						Why Phil Mickelson 
						and the One Ball Rule cost the U.S. 2 holes at the 
						Presidents Cup...
                      
						 
						
						  
						
						  
						
							
								
									
									
										
										
										Phil Mickelson somehow managed to lose 
										two holes for his team with one mistake 
										on Friday at the Presidents Cup. How? 
										Let’s try to explain. 
										 
										On the seventh hole of his fourballs 
										(best ball) match taking with Zach 
										Johnson against Jason Day and Adam 
										Scott, Mickelson played a model of golf 
										ball different than the one he used to 
										start the match. That’s a violation of 
										Rule 33-1 in the Rules of Golf, as well 
										under Rule 5-1, defined as the One Ball 
										Rule as a Condition of Competition. It 
										means a player cannot use multiple 
										models of golf balls in an attempt to 
										gain an advantage as conditions change. 
										 
										Typically, the match-play penalty for 
										violating a rule relating to playing the 
										wrong ball is the automatic 
										disqualification of violating player 
										from the hole on which the mistake was 
										discovered. In one-on-one match play, 
										that means the loss of a hole. After 
										consulting with a PGA Tour official, 
										Mickelson picked up his ball. 
										 
										Johnson, flying solo, made par 5 on the 
										hole and lost to Jason Day’s birdie to 
										go 1 down in the match. 
										 
										So, how then did the U.S. go 2 down in 
										the match? 
										 
										Mickelson and Johnson were penalized 
										together for Mickelson’s Rule 5-1/33-1 
										infraction. A breach of a Condition of 
										Competition leads to a change in the 
										state of the match on which the breach 
										is discovered, up to two holes. Since it 
										was realized on the seventh, it was just 
										a one-hole adjustment. So the U.S. lost 
										the seventh twice, once in playing it 
										and another through an adjustment 
										penalty. 
										 
										However, PGA Tour chief rules official 
										Mark Russell later told U.S. captain Jay 
										Haas that Mickelson actually could have 
										played out the hole, even with the wrong 
										ball, in fourball match play. An 
										official mistakenly gave Mickelson bad 
										information in saying he should pick up. 
										Under the Rules, however, there is no 
										recourse for Mickelson to remedy the bad 
										info, so the ruling stands — as wacky as 
										it sounds. 
										  
										
									 
									 | 
								 
							 
						 
						   | 
                     
                     
                      		 | 
						 
					  | 
					
					   
					
						
							
							
	
		   
		
			
				
				
						
						
						
						WebGolfClub.com 
						is Recognized by the  
						
						
						 
						PGA of America 
						
						  
						
				   
				 | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| 
		 
		  
		
		 | 
	 
 
   | 
						 
					  |